Posts Tagged ‘Eve Clair’

One Woman One Day Show

Tuesday, April 13th, 2010

Demain soir je fête mes six mois de résidence au 59 rue de Rivoli,
j’exposerai le travail résultant de ce temps,
les images attendus mais plutôt inattendus,
autour d’un apéro, partagé avec des amis
nouveaux, de longtemps et pas encore connus.

A Paris? Vous êtes bienvenus.

La vie après le squart: 59 Rivoli re-opens

Tuesday, September 8th, 2009

The phrase that stuck out in my mind today: “Il faut partager, pas conserver.” (It’s necessary to share, not preserve.) The words came out of Paris Mayor Bertrand Delanoë’s mouth as he talked to journalists while visiting 59 Rivoli. The building at this address in the center of Paris existed as an artist’s squat for 6 years (after having stood empty for 10) and tomorrow at 18h00, after nearly 3 years of renovations, the public is invited to come inside and visit the studios of the 32 artists that started working there this week.

Today was reserved for the Mayor, who made good on his promise to renovate and rendre (give back) the building as a space to create and share their work.

I started photographing this building, and the beautiful faces inside of it, when they moved in 2006. Some of those photos can be seen here.

But here is a look at today.

Suisse Marocain on the lookout for Delanoë's arrival.

Suisse Marocain on the lookout for Delanoë's arrival.

Kit Brown and his Leica. Wearing an example of the t-shirt he offered Delanoe.

Kit Brown and his Leica. Wearing an example of the T-shirt he offered Delanoë.

Etusko Kobyashi, wearing one of her mask creations.

Etsuko Kobyashi, wearing one of her mask creations.

Mariko and Aki.  Sandy M and Anita Savary.

Mariko Saito and Gaki. Sandy Murden and Anita Savary.

The stylish Lucie Belarbi anticipating Delanoë's entrance.

The stylish Lucie Belarbi anticipating Delanoë's entrance.

Gaspard Delanoë (president of the artist's association at 59) and Bertrand Delanoë, surrounded by media.

Gaspard Delanoë (squat co-founder and president of the artist's association at 59) and Bertrand Delanoë, surrounded by media

Leora Wien, a Los Angeles native, shares a moment with Monsieur le Maire.  A painting of President Barack Obama, by Thierry Hodgebar, peeks behind them

Leora Wien, a Los Angeles native with a message, shares a moment with Monsieur le Maire. A painting of President Barack Obama, by Thierry Hodgebar, peeks behind them

The Mayor in Eve Clair's studio on the 6th floor.

The Mayor in Eve Clair's studio on the 6th floor.

Mariko Saito, charming Delanoe in a one-of-a-kind dress.

Mariko Saito, charming Delanoë in a one-of-a-kind dress.

Francesco and Aliocha, who showed up like a rock star after Delanoë made his exit.

Francesco and Aliocha, who showed up like a rock star after Delanoë made his exit.

Suisse Marocain : http://www.59rivoli.org/suissemarocain.html
Kit Brown : http://abookaboutdeath.blogspot.com/2009/08/kit-brown-181.html
Etsuko Kobyashi : http://www.59rivoli.org/etsuko.html
Sandy Murden : http://www.59rivoli.org/sandy.html
Anita Savary : http://anitasavary.free.fr/
Lucie Belarbi : http://www.59rivoli.org/luciebelarbi.html
Gaspard Delanoë : http://gasparddelanoe2008.wordpress.com/
Leora Wien : http://www.leorawien.blogspot.com/
Thierry Hodebar : http://www.59rivoli.org/thierryhodebar.html
Eve Clair : http://eve.clair.free.fr/
Mariko Saito : http://www.59rivoli.org/mariko.html
Francesco : http://www.59rivoli.org/francesco.html
Aliocha : http://www.59rivoli.org/aliocha.html